Serge Lutens Collection

Those of you who know me well know that fragrance is a serious issue for me. I don’t change my perfume quite often – in fact, I never change it. Every now and then – by this I mean twice so far in the past 25 years – I find a new fragrance which I use very occasionally in addition to my daily perfume.

Last year – on September 3rd to be precise, the day before I left New York City for good – I ran into the Serge Lutens Collection at Bergdorf Goodman. The most thoughtful, individual, untraditional, daring and sublime scents I have ever smelled.  The unisex fragrances are inspired from everyday objects and experiences, and use ingredients that go beyond what you can imagine. Arabie, Clair de muse, Ambre sultan, Bas de soie, Nuit de cellophane, Sa majesté la rose, Chergui and Datura noir were some of the ones that took my attention. Yet I ended up taking home A la Nuit, one that was all about jasmine, nothing else. The notes include  jasmine (Egyptian, Indian and Moroccan), green shoots, cloves, white honey, benzoin and musk.

The Serge Lutens Collection can be found at Barneys and Bergdorf Goodman in NYC – you can also be part of the amazing experience of picking out one of the fragrances in person (which itself is a treat) in its own boutique in Paris, close to the Jardin du Palais Royal.
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

