Bennett Sings

Very rarely comes a concert that moves me so much… The Tony Bennett concert a few days ago was THE event of the Istanbul Jazz Festival, if not of this year.  Not only I was impressed by Bennett’s amazing voice and warm performance, but also his phrasing – which gave a meaning to every single word he sang – was impressive.

Bennett sang and spoke to the audience at the same time. He gave hope in Maybe This Time, showed love in The Way You Look Tonight, made me smile in Stranger in Paradise and feel sadly gay in I Left My Heart in San Francisco, and lit up my face in Smile.

And you know what he made me realize…  Love is the person you think about during the sad songs, right?

If you ever get the opportunity to listen to him live – do not miss.

Leave a Reply

